Daily Archives: October 2, 2017

7 Movies That Inspire Hope Within Me

I have an odd question to ask you.

Odd because I’m a writer, shouldn’t I be asking about books? Well, lots of movies came from books.

Plus as a writer, it’s stories that I love.

Odd because, hope as a subject? Not many people focusing on that lately.

Odd because my poetry doesn’t always appear hopeful (but it is to me).

Odd becuase because because.

Anywho…

 

I’ve arranged these 7 movies in order of how strongly they affect me. The first being the absolute strongest. Isn’t that how you detect hope? …. you FEEL it, are MOVED by it.


 

Collateral Beauty

I cannot put into words what I feel when watching this movie. Love, Time, Death. Who doesn’t decide to hate them at times? Which of us doesn’t need to remember their true meaning in our lives?

I guess there’s some words.

 

The Shack

You don’t have to even believe in a specific kind of Higher Power to feel the message of hope. I guess there was a bunch of controversy over this movie. All I have to do is google it to find out about what. I don’t care. Everyone everywhere can find something negative in everyone and everything, ever, if we look.

This movie has a message, this story has a message. Beyond that, the rest are trappings; extra for us to do with what we want, what we choose. The meaning of this movie, in my opinion, is something we all need. We get hope from forgiveness; for others, for ourselves. I know I need that. I know I need to believe, to know, I am loved and worthy of that love.

 

Best Exotic Marigold Hotel

This one I really don’t have words for. You’d have to watch it for yourself to possibly understand what I cannot communicate.

 

Hidalgo

This gives me hope that people can see ALL people as people, ALL animals as souls. Few things bring me pain so greatly as to see people hate, hurt, or become indifferent to animals.

 

No Reservations

Hope that everyone can change. Hope that love can find us all a way back home. A way back to ourselves. A way to healing. A way to hope.

 

The Addams Family

I’m weird. I’m certain you’ve noticed.

Now this movie doesn’t inspire a feeling of hope within me. But it does GIVE me hope. Hope that we can each be our own weird selves and still be accepted, loved, for who we are.

 

Remember the Titans

I often find it hard to remember to respect those who see me, Daphne, as white. I find it hard to see people as black. As Latino. As Asian. As Middle Eastern. As Pacific Islanders. As Native Americans. As “mixed”.

I am not my nationality. Sure, people can become products of their culture. But English culture is the same to a black English man and a white English man, in its purest form. We make things sexist. We make it about black and white. We make skin color important. Instead of loving differences in culture, being curious, exploring the many peoples on this painful, beautiful, crazy, messy world we’ve been gifted.

So what do I see before I see skin color? Easy. There is a person standing in front of me, different and similar to me, with a life full of experiences, tears, smiles, and blank faces I know nothing about.

This movie restores hope to me that we will find our way back to that within our own personal lives, if we so choose.

 

 

MY QUESTION IS THIS. What movies (and movies, only, for now, please) that inspire hope within you?

I’d really appreciate an answer.

We all struggle, right? We all need hope.

You don’t have to give an explanation or reason. Just a movie title. Or a few. I’d value some help from those of you who listen in to the inner ramblings I share with you. Thank you.

This isn’t a cry for help. It’s a cry for more hope. Something beautiful from our lives that we can share. That we can feel.

5 Comments

Filed under The Odd Bit