300 Million Year Old Dragons

Dragonflies, that is.

I love dragonflies. I won’t get into their symbolism today, but I’d love to in a future post.

 

Dragonflies were here 100 million  years before the dinosaurs. and had up to 2 foot long wingspans. (Their wingspan is now five or six inches.)

THAT would be cool to see. A huge dragonfly flitting by our heads, grabbing a bird out of the air and chomping down on it.

And dragonflies are brutal predators in the insect world.

Check out their jaws…

 

Now imagine that underwater in your pool if they were two feet large.

That’s a nymph dragonfly. They start their lives out as underwater larvae, terrorizing fish and others of their own kind.

Because, oh yeah – dragonflies (whether they’re a nymph or aviators) – are cannibals.

 

Their emergence from their nymph bodies into the gorgeous flying dragonfly is amazing.

I also found a video for this…

 

Creepy and awe inspiring right?

I love it.

 

Years ago, I found a few dragonflies in my backyard and took a zillion photos. You’ll see I use them for the cover photos on my blog above, my twitter account, and Facebook account.

Wee bit obsessed with dragonflies.

Here are some of my favorites. I suggest you click into each of them so as to see the dragonflies up close.

 

Daphne Shadows

This one is pretty zoomed out but I love the warring colors of the trees and the vibrancy of the orange/red dragonfly.

 

Daphne Shadows

I caught the blue one with it’s mouth open.

 

Daphne Shadows

Looking through all of the photos I took, even though I was on the ground below the dragonflies, zooming in with a camera, the dragonflies eyes’ followed my exact location, regardless. Their eyes are always looking at me.

 

Daphne Shadows

 

Daphne Shadows

The multi-colored dragonfly always looks like it was smiling. 🙂

 

Daphne Shadows

 

Daphne Shadows

 

Daphne Shadows

I tend to like the out of focus look, if you couldn’t tell.

 

Daphne Shadows

I like this one because you can see the dragonfly with its mouth only partially open, giving you a better view of how the little guy is put together.

Also, this dragonfly is probably close to the end of his or her life, as it’s wings are torn up. 😦

 

Daphne Shadows

Whereas the orange dragonfly is relatively young, most likely, as it’s wings are in perfect condition.

 

Daphne Shadows

 

Daphne Shadows

 

Beautiful creatures, right?

Do you like dragonflies?

2 Comments

Filed under The Odd Bit

2 responses to “300 Million Year Old Dragons

  1. Michael L Potts

    I feel trapped in a pine box and I’m running out of air I feel tormented by past deeds I desperately want to be free of, this weight is getting heavy I desire peace.

    • Everyone can find peace, I promise. Have you tried at least talking to someone, like a therapist? Or Al-Anon? I do both. They’ve quite literally saved my life, not to be corny, but its so true. Email me some time if you feel the urge. ❤ I promise life has beauty and peace and contentedness to offer. We just have to find it, which is MUCH easier said than done.

What are you thinking? Speak words to me!

