Daily Archives: June 2, 2017

Conundrum

People say, change the world with your art.

But what if the art I have inside me is tainted, the same as I am?

What if all I have to offer is twisted and soaked in pain?

What if the lessons I have to learn through my art is laced with bloody barbed wire, twirling through the small glimmers of such agonizing beauty that it drips into porcelain until even the sun cannot bear to gaze upon it?

 

I don’t have time to sabotage anything else

But that isn’t true, is it?

 

I don’t have the heart to camouflage anymore pain.

But I’ll do it

Won’t I?

 

I don’t have any way

To speak

Conundrum

 

Dark in

Light out

 

How do I deal truthfully

When all you see is the light?

 

What happens when you

Find something else?

 

Still me

Always me

 

Waiting for someone who sees

Who understands

 

But I won’t tell you that

 

Ah, that is the conundrum, is it not? The ache, the need to scream, to let it all out. To be free, fully come alive. To deny parts of me, well.

That’s not going to bring life to anything, now is it?

 

By Daphne Shadows

 

1 Comment

Filed under Not that Kind of Poetry