No More Eye Jokes

Alrighty – strap yourselves in people because I love animals.

Dogs are THE BEST. I also adore kittens. Cats are cool and I LOVE to love them. I’m not big on having cats at home though, just because they’re not big lovers. At least, all the cats I’ve had weren’t lovey-dovey. At all. I wanted to love them! They just wanted me to feed them. *sobs*

ANYWHO – I love all animals. I think they deserve the absolute best this life has to offer. They’re sweet souls, so trusting (mainly dogs), and they love so purely. They’re goofy and fierce.

 

You know what I hate?

People who hurt animals. I know, I know, not very Christian of me, but I’m in therapy. Get over it.

But seriously. Animal abuse disgusts me. Enrages me. Outrages me. I sometimes cannot understand how human beings can be so cruel to animals. It makes me wish we could round them all up and do to them what they did to the animals.

Since that’s not legal and I’m about the size of a stuffed animal (a really small one), I’ll stick to what I can do.

Loving the animals I can help.

That means enlisting you.

 

You guys know me by now. I don’t do anything 100% happy, fluffy, sweet, and sugar coated.

The reality?

Animal abuse is disgusting and can be pretty graphic. I’ve started with the vet and nonprofit organization VetRanch, as they’re extremely upbeat, feature happy music, and only feature the animal once it’s made it safely to the vet. I’ll provide all their links at the end.

I believe, if these animals can suffer these traumas, then we can respect them enough to suffer through witnessing their pain. If we’re the type built for it. If you’re not, I’ve provided times to skip ahead to the happy parts. There’s nothing to be ashamed of if you’re not the kind who can stomach it. Animal abuse is a terrible thing to witness. A disgusting act of humans. We’re not all built the same and some can’t handle even the thought of a sweet animal being hurt.

My family asked me how I can stand to watch these videos. I’m so easily attached to animals and animal abuse is a real issue with me. I cried like a baby and imagined terrible things when I had to take this sweet little puppy to the animal shelter last month. I was horrified. I cried so hard when one of my dogs died that I got a migraine which would only go away once I’d been adjusted because I’d thrown a bone in my neck out so far.

I cannot stress enough how much I love animals.

But the thing is, I am built with a certain darkness in me. I always take things to the most depraved, painful places. Probably my childhood but probably also simply part of who I am. I struggle with depression. I write urban fantasy and horror. The things in my head are pretty twisted. 😉 SO, I know there are dogs and cats and all types of fuzzy babies out there suffering horrible things. I know this. I hate it. It eats at me.

So watching these videos fills me with a hope I also cannot explain in words. It tells me that there are people out there searching for these animals, getting them safe, healthy, and loving them. It tells me they are not all alone. They are not destined to die in pain and frightened. There are beautiful people helping in every way they can, re-shaping these animals’ lives into something magnificent and loving.

Something painful and terrible is turned into a worthwhile and carefree life. I already know there is pain. These videos prove to me that there is also kindness, love, peace, hope, and a solid determination to change the world for every single animal there is.

 

I will tell you under each video if there’s going to be any surgery footage, at what time stamp, and where to skip. Or, if you simply want to see the end result of the now happy and healthy animal, I’ll give you that time stamp too.

Is it time stamp? That the right term? *shrug* I dunno.

 

And if you make it to the end – or if that’s all you want to see – at the very end I give you two animal videos that are stress alleviating. Just to wash your brain of all that animal cruelty and stuffing it full of adorableness. Not that there isn’t adorableness in the rescue videos. There is. Loads.

 

Let’s Change This Girl’s Fate

This video is of a dog with a totally messed up eye. The beginning shows her eye, so if you want to skip to where it looks relatively normal, skip to 1:24.

The end result of surgery, while he is stitching her up, begins at 1:55 and ends at 2:05.

If you want to skip to where she is happy and bouncing around like a crazy adorable dog should always be, skip ahead to 3:12.

Dr. Matt thanks some kids who wrote/drew in and sent some donations to VetRanch. So if you want to skip that part, it goes from 3:45 to 5:03. At which point you get to see a very happy dog once again.

If you watch to the end of this video, you will understand why this post is entitled ‘no more eye jokes’.

 

 

Tiny Kitten Barely Survives

Surgery footage starts at 1:55 and ends at 2:37.

If you want to skip through to how he ends up, skip to 9 minutes.

 

 

Hedgie the Hedgehog 

You see this little guy’s eye, which is all messed up at 1:33. If you don’t want to see it, go ahead and skip ahead to 2:23.

If you want to skip to healthy cuteness, go to 3:36.

 

 

Those fuzzy little guys and gals went through so freaking much! So not fair. But they got rescued, all fixed up, and are now loved and happy.

So, if you made it through all of that, I figured maybe you’d want to see a few videos of JUST the cuteness that happy, healthy, safe, and loved animals have to offer.

 

I give to you an adorable baby bat eating watermelon and an equally adorable husky wearing boots…

 

 

You guys still with me?

Okay.

Whew.

Feel so much better.

All fuzzies in this post are happy and healthy and soaking in love.

So. The point of this post was in the hopes to raise awareness of how many suffering animals are out there and to inspire you to help animals in need, to volunteer at local shelters, and/or to donate money to VetRanch. Or even to simply watch the videos, like, and/or subscribe to the channels. It helps!

Go love your dog or cat or whatever you have.

I’m going to go pet my dog.

 

Vet Ranch Youtube Channel 

Vet Ranch Website 

Vet Ranch Facebook

Vet Ranch Twitter

These doctors seem to genuinely love these animals and strive to give them a great quality of life. If you’d like to donate, it doesn’t need to be anything big. Every $5 makes a big difference. Once I have a job again, it’s definitely one of the places I’ll donate money.

I hope you guys and your animals are doing fabulously! Me and Lucky are doing great.

2 Comments

Filed under Animals

2 responses to “No More Eye Jokes

  1. Gwen Hardage-Vergeer

    Hi Daphne, it’s Gwen! Wow, you put a .lot of work into this blog entry! (I’m thinking of how many times you had to watch each video to get all the times right.) I agree no one should hurt animals, and I also love animals, but your soapbox here reminds me of my soapbox—what about how we should treat children? I realize “saving” a child is a lot bigger job and responsibility than saving a dog or cat or bat–but it is an incredible reward, too. Most kids in foster care who will be put up for adoption have been abused; even if they never make it home from the hospital with their birthmother, they may have developed with drugs or alcohol coursing through their prenatal veins. And if they do go home with birthparents and are taken away later–well, that’s almost always because of abuse too. Check out http://www.cakidsconnection.com to see what I mean. They won’t have any gritty details. Just beautiful kids. Gwen :o)

What are you thinking? Speak words to me!

