Moments

Hi everyone!

So, I’m not dead.

I haven’t blogged in a month, but hey – life. It catches you, holds you captive, and only lets you look out the bars of your cage at the shiny bright outside world here and there, all the while charging you for your time and draining you of your soul.

Okay, so perhaps that’s not what’s been happening literally, but you get my point.

So – what to talk to you guys about?

 

bridge-19513_1920

 

Well, I do like this quote.

“Time passes in moments… moments which, rushing past, define the path of a life, just as surely as they lead towards its end. How rarely do we stop to examine that path, to see the reasons why all things happen, to consider whether the path we take in life is our own making, or simply one into which we drift with eyes closed. But what if we could stop, pause to take stock of each precious moment before it passes? Might we then see the endless forks in the road that have shaped a life? And, seeing those choices, choose another path?”

That’s Scully, in Season 7, Episode 17 of the X-Files.

 

What if we had brains like a computer and could pause and click on each moment, as a separate screen. Watch and re-watch the path of our lives, the decisions that brought us to each next step.

I think I’d be most alarmed by the amount of time my eyes were closed. How things began to change when I opened up to reality and the harsh but healing truth.

I’m glad I can’t do that. For many reasons. Looking back and freezing all those moments would be too much, I believe. For me anyway.

What about you? What would you find?

road-815297_1920

Are there moments, moments you can track and firmly say, ‘this is where I messed up’ or, ‘this is where I began to succeed’? Can you look back into your life and honestly say you were present for the part where you looked at the choices you had before you and then stepped onto your chosen path? Or were you led blindly by life’s, society’s, your parents’, your siblings’, your idolized friend’s, anyone’s – opinions, rules, and ‘because I said so’s? Did you follow the “shoulds”, instead of what was right for you? Did you allow the whirlwind of the world, the cacophony of voices, so many voices, drown you out until you weren’t even aware that your eyes were closed? Or that you had your own voice?

I hope not.

But if you did, you could always start now, you know.

I love stories where someone has been victimized or stories where someone has screwed up royally with no one else to blame but themselves, and then at age 30, age 40, age 50 – when the world tells them their life is practically over because they’re sooooo old (yet, life tells you you’re too young to do or know anything correctly and you’re basically just a joke if you’re 28… so apparently the only time life feels your life is validated and worthwhile is the whole year of 29….not sound reasoning here people) – they pick themselves up and begin.

Literally.

Their life begins there.

Why do I love stories like that?

Because it doesn’t bloody matter how old you are. If you have life in you still – then that’s just it! You have life in you still. So start now and start your own life.

 

What’ve you guys been up to the past month while I neglected the blog-o-sphere?

I’ve recently been checking out pepper sprays, healthy dog foods, and lunch containers. Do you have any idea how difficult it is to find a decent lunch container that will survive the fridge at my work and still keep my food un-squished? Freaking mind boggling. But I finally found one today! Yay! It’s stainless steel, so now it can beat everything else in the fridge up. Success!

path-1150070_1920

6 Comments

Filed under Stream of Consciousness

6 responses to “Moments

  1. Awesome! Sounds like your new lunch box can survive any coming apocalypse. ;-D Coincidentally, I recently got a nice stainless steel water bottle. It clips to my belt, and once filled, it’s heavy & I can bonk muggers over the head with it.

    As for pivotal life moments…most definitely there are some for me. I wouldn’t want to see all those moments over again unless I could do something to change them, though. Such as being careful so I would NOT fall down the stairs and break my ankle, as I did a few (or so) years ago. I fell down a financial black hole then, so… Oh, and I was rushing downstairs to watch “Bones,” which the hospital nurses thought was hilariously ironic. ;-}

    Loved your blog post! Better that you waited and had something to say, rather than blah-blah-blah frequently. Now, if only I could think of a blog post subject for myself. *sigh*

    • LOL now THAT is a good reason for stainless steel appliances!

      Interesting way to break one’s ankle. I feel like that’s the klutzy side of myself’s life goal. (that was terrify-ably ungrammatical, hopefully it made sense) How long did it take to heal?
      I just, oh jeeze, I can so see you doing that. The things we do for our tv shows. *slow nod*

  2. Tannis Boyd

    LOVED IT! BRAVO! (and you know what i’ve been doing – lol)

  3. Loved it! Absolutely loved it! 🙂

What are you thinking? Speak words to me!

