Blank Page

Sometimes life looks like this:

 

IMG_7413

 

An empty page never frightens me.

I rather crave it. Always have. And I’m not just talking, as a writer, about a blank piece of paper.

 

Do you ever start to tell someone something and then realize you’re not sure you want to be that vulnerable? Maybe you don’t want them to know that about you.

But then, at the same time, something inside you is daring you to spill it anyway.

Like the little devil on one shoulder and the angel on the other.

“Tell!”

“No, don’t tell. And get a mint.”

“Yes, tell! It’s worth, like, twenty donuts if you do!”

 

What kind of devil trades in donuts? And says, ‘like’.

Don’t judge me; I haven’t slept in a month.

My point.

Do you ever wonder if you’re easily readable or transparent at certain times?

Ok, that wasn’t my point. I don’t remember my point.

 

My point is, what does it bring to mind, that blank page and what I began to say?

I wrote a blog post but then deleted 9/10ths of it. Can you guess what I was about to talk about? Or pretend it’s a writing prompt and tell me the strangest story possible surrounding it. Humor me…

No… Really… *HUMOR ME*

7 Comments

Filed under Stream of Consciousness

7 responses to “Blank Page

  1. I think you may have been about to relate your experience of having been abducted by those little grey aliens with black wraparound eyes, but then you remembered their one BIG rule: Don’t TELL anyone! Or they’ll bring out that damn probe which, as everyone knows, is NOT FUN. So you stopped yourself, and duct-taped your mouth closed. Just in case.

    Or maybe that wasn’t it at all. It could just be wishful thinking on my part. I do so want a VACATION. An interplanetary cruise would definitely fill the bill. And I’d never tell. Okay, I’d tell YOU, of course.

    I’m in a bit of a strange mood today.

    in case you haven’t noticed. ;-}

  2. What happened to the dark creepy mysterious imaginings or truths

  3. You had a dilution my dear writer.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • Daphne, I think you were going to write that you have a magical power but that it frightens you, because you don’t know what it’s for and you don’t want to disarm people. You are clairvoyant. But when you are speaking with someone you nod politely, without letting on that you know exactly what they are going to say.

What are you thinking? Speak words to me!

