One of Those Moods

Life is a lot more complicated than I thought.

There’s no growing into perfection…

I believed in something that’s not.

 

Inside your chest and in your head.

This is the challenge of life.

In the boney parts, the veins, the thoughts that want to be fed.

 

The continuous struggle, ebb, and flow.

These are the parts that teach you.

How you find out, how you learn to know.

 

I lived by these rules, I’ve waited by these lies.

They’ve grown me no wings.

They’ve bound me down in ties.

 

Do you ever feel confused inside your own head?

Not “confused” as in, end up in a Criminal Minds episode, but “confused” as in scattered. Lost inside your own dizzying thoughts, impressions, emotions. Swarming until the consistent static of movement but no specific direction, focus, drives you to… I don’t know what.

Maybe it’s not your head that’s confused then. Perhaps it’s your heart.

Funny how I keep typing in “you”, “your”.

 

peony-800109_1280

Leave a comment

Filed under Not that Kind of Poetry

What are you thinking? Speak words to me!

