Resistance Brings Persistence

Life is a mess.

Mine has been very messy lately.

I’ve failed to see how anything good can come of chaos, or how anything good can happen during chaos. How can you keep your cool, your wits about you? How can you think? Breathe? Figure out what is going on inside you? How can you live when life is a mess and things are falling apart around you?

Pretty naïve, right?

Right.

Well, I’m figuring it out.

Slowly.

Painfully.

 

Life is a Mess...

Life is a Mess…

 

I am learning that resistance brings persistence.

So yeah, my life is a mess. I am a mess. I admit it. I’m aware of it. (I don’t know that I accept it yet, but I’m working on it. Awareness, then acceptance.)

And the mess is only getting more and more painful, more out of control.

 

So what?

I’m not going to explode, starve, cause World War 3, or get hit by a flying saucer.

I’m not a horrible, bad person because my life is a mess.

Life is.

Life is messy.

I’m trying to deny what is by writing myself as at fault, as the cause of all this horrible.

I can’t change life or the messiness that comes along with it. I can’t control the universe, the Creator of the Universe, outcomes to situations, or any of the creatures in the universe. Except me.

I can control me and how I am.

Yet, I’m trying to deny that life is messy simply because it is and blame it on myself.

 

......that doesn't mean its not Beautiful

……that doesn’t mean its not Beautiful

 

I know this is repetitive, but bear with me. Thinking properly is a circular process. And us humans we have to throw a brick at our head twelve times before we realize – “hey look! A brick! Maybe I should duck….”

 

Chaos doesn’t mean I have to be panicked. Doesn’t mean my only options are to survive or die. Chaos doesn’t mean anything actually – except “chaos”.

Chaos is chaos.

Chaos has not attacked me because I’m living life incorrectly or because I’m stupid or unworthy of happiness.

Chaos: “complete disorder and confusion”

Mess: “a situation or state of affairs that is confused or full of difficulties”

Now, someone tell me please, where in there does it say “because Daphne woke up this morning”?

….

No one?

Didn’t think so.

 

Finding serenity, peace, calmness – whatever you want to call it. It’s possible.

Even in times of chaos.

Even when your life and your health are such a mess that you’re wondering  what on earth you did to deserve this. When is it going to end? When can I find happiness?

Right now.

Happiness, serenity, peace, it’s all possible to have in times of pain, chaos, and mess.

Life has with it all the challenges and difficulties it does.

Don’t take it personally.

Take the challenge and learn from it. Grow stronger. Grow wiser. Get better at something. The pains of life usually carry with them a wisdom or ability you’ll use to bring yourself or another happiness in the future.

Every “mess” can have its silver lining.

Know that. Know that it’s okay to feel like a mess. To feel just pure “ugh”. But that doesn’t mean that’s all you’re allowed to feel.

Find your serenity.

It’s possible.

It’s HARD!!!

But it’s worth the work.

 

You don't always have to color inside the lines. Sometimes your mistakes turn out to be better anyway.

You don’t always have to color inside the lines. Sometimes your mistakes turn out to be better anyway.

 

 

Resistance only brings persistence of whatever it is that you want to stop.

Stop resisting. Accept that it’s happening.

Then get to work on getting safe, healthy, and serene.

 

You can’t move out of the way of a brick if you’re telling yourself it’s not there or that you can just ignore it or wish it away.

You have to see it before you can take action.

 

And stop blaming yourself!

What if instead of yourself or someone else throwing it at you – the brick just fell off a really old building? That doesn’t mean you need to beat yourself up over it.

You’re not supposed to take responsibility for a building growing old and falling apart. That happens all on its own. Its called the rules of the universe.

Just saying.

 

What do you do when your life is a mess?

 

brick wall close up background


 

definitions source: Google define:

4 Comments

Filed under Stream of Consciousness

4 responses to “Resistance Brings Persistence

  1. Daphne, so sorry you are in the middle of chaos! Your are absolutely right – life is messy and it is no one’s fault. Not yours, not mine. We just have to keep breathing and getting out of bed in the morning and moving forward, on tiny tiny tiny step at a time. Awareness, acceptance will eventually turn to a path through the chaos so you can come out the other side, braver and stronger than before. *HUGS*

    • Thanks for the hugs! Yes, just keep my butt moving. One step at a time is a big one for me – I try to do everything all at once or I feel like a failure. So its a new way of doing things that has me grumbling. But baby steps work for me. 😀 I hope your own chaos is at a minimum!

  2. Age old wisdom of detachment related to the context of normally obtaining life situations. How’s life, I ask; depends on the liver, quipped the respondent, throwing up an answer that will resonate in more ways than as a reference to a critical part of anatomy, as your post attempts to clearly explain, daphne…my appreciative hugs xxx and best wishes… Raj.

What are you thinking? Speak words to me!

