4 Rules to Follow in Order to Stay Alive on Halloween

Okay I love Halloween, a.k.a. Samhain, so I figured I’d round up some ways to stay alive (and keep all your body parts) on this fine night.

 

Although technically, it’s three nights. Samhain (the origins of Halloween) is:

December 30th – the end of the ancient Celts’ year

December 31st – the in between day

November 1st – the beginning of their new year

So if you really love Halloween, you can technically drag it out. Because I totally don’t do that.

 

stockvault-death-finition133408

 

Now let’s get onto how to survive.

(And if you’re one of the people reading this thinking to yourself, “Halloween is over, move forward” or “what are you doing?”…. don’t make me stab you.)

*ahem*

 

Life Saving Rules:

  1. Wear a costume!

Why? It keeps you safe from other creatures that would love to rip your intestines out and use your toenail as a toothpick. That’s actually how the costume wearing started – blending in for your own safety.

  1. Hand out candy.

At least for a little while. That way no one will be tempted to set your house on fire. Er-egg your house. Yeah, that’s what they’ll be trying to do. *can of gasoline falls out of my hands*

  1. Don’t blow your Jack O’ Lantern out.

Or someone will stab you. With a broken lollipop. In the neck. And then cut you up and hang you around your own lawn because I totally didn’t steal this one from the movie and also didn’t ruin the beginning for anyone who hasn’t seen it.

  1. Always check your candy.

I remember, since the time I was a munchkin, I’d trick or treat, come home, dump my candy out on the ground and check it. Why? Because razors, poison, and mean people. Duh! Did I mention chocolate gremlins? You never know! *creepy eyes*

 

And in the case that you find yourself in a horror movie, here are a few random rules to follow (it could happen!):

  1. Do NOT be blonde.
  2. Do not be busty.
  3. Take OFF your high heels before you run.
  4. Pay attention to the ground while running.
  5. If you do trip, do not lay on the ground and wail and/or stare at the ax murderer coming your way. Get up and run!
  6. Do not call out, “hello? Is anyone there?” Yes! There’s someone there. And they want to find and kill you. And guess what? You just helped them with the finding part.
  7. If you end up stranded, get a flat tire, or run out of gas, DO NOT, I repeat, do not, go look for help in the creepy, empty, bleak house. Just don’t do it.
  8. And just in case you missed every episode of Scooby-Doo ever, do NOT split up.

 

stockvault-halloween-pumpkin127595

 

 

 

What Halloween rules have you been told since you were or a child? Or which ones do you like?

Have you ever been in a horror movie? 😉 Are there any dorky horror movie rules that you absolutely love that I didn’t add?

Did you have fun on Halloween?

And last but not least – did you stay alive and in one piece on Halloween? Or is this your ghost?

10 Comments

Filed under The Odd Bit

10 responses to “4 Rules to Follow in Order to Stay Alive on Halloween

  1. I love Randy’s rules for how to survive a horror movie from Scream. Every time someone says, “I’ll be right back,” I think of that movie and smile. 🙂

  2. I love Randy’s rules for how to make it through a horror movie from Scream. Every time someone says, “I’ll be right back,” I think of that movie and smile. 🙂

  3. Nan Sampson

    Love this!!

    And yes, Halloween is my favorite holiday… EVER.  Hope yours was filled with candy.  And that you didn’t get your gremlin wet or let him eat after midnight!

    Nan

      “It’s not the years, honey. It’s the mileage.”   Indiana Jones, “Raiders of the Lost Ark”

  4. Wait, we’re in a horror movie?!? I knew this life was too messed up. 😉

    Somebody has a b-day coming up soon. I wonder who? 🙂

  5. Nope, it’s really me. Not a ghost yet. 😀

What are you thinking? Speak words to me!

