Why Writers are Masochists (and “I Wanna Get Better”)

So this is draft number eighty thousand and one and one half (draft number six in reality) of my novel and IT IS FINALLY READY FOR CRITIQUES.

Funny thing is, for this story – Blair’s story, the only drafts I should have written were numbers 5 and 6. Drafts 1 – 4 were all different stories.

BUT – with the help of ever-awesome critique partner and all around amazing dude (you know who you are), I FINALLY figured out what my issue was.

This also helped me figured something else out.

My writing process.

Took me long enough.

 

95px-Smiley_green_alien_big_eyes.svg

 

And for all of you who keep asking me what my bloody book is about, here’s a blurb. Not “the” blurb, but “a” blurb.

 

Human or Hidden

Blair is free.

She wakes up in a forest, no idea how she got there, covered in blood and wearing broken chains.

But before she can enjoy her well earned freedom, she triggers a Merge of Realities, causing a cataclysmic series of events.

In the city of Zerzura, California, cut off from the rest of the world, Blair must fight down an ancient demonic presence (drawn by the Merge), escape the creatures trying to drag her back to slavery, decide if those drawn to her are allies or pawns, avoid the Blood-witches driven mad by the crashing Realities and rise above her own fatal doubts.

Mainly, is her freedom worth the ruin of the world?

(Horror/Fantasy/Paranormal)

 

120px-Smiley_green_alien_mmm.svg

 

I will probably change this a million times – it started out twice as long with two questions in it – but a friend (you also know who you are) made a few suggestions and light bulbs attacked my head.

I wrote this up yesterday afternoon just to give critiquing peoples an idea of what Blair’s story is about. I know that the second to last sentence is like the LONGEST SENTENCE OF ALL LONG SENTENCES and I might need to change it. I’m kind of torn though because if you look at the back of a book, there are sentences this long. I dunno.

But like I said, I just threw it together. If you have any suggestions, go ahead and comment. If it doesn’t make sense, please let me know.

 

But anywho – I love the craziness surrounding critiques.

Being a writer, you’re supposed to have thick skin. But at the same time you’re supposed to be sensitive enough to write characters with real emotions and doubts. You have to be a rhino but empathize at the same time.

In the past, I haven’t had good experiences with critique partners. By bad experience, I mean, they didn’t critique my work, they told me that I was an idiot and should fly to New York and get to know literary agents and work on getting published their way.

Not helpful.

JOY OF ALL JOYS (not being sarcastic this time), I’ve had a new critique partner for more than a year now that is PURE AWESOME.

However, every author will tell you that you need a variety of opinions.

 

Smiley_green_alien_knockout.svg

 

The thing about critiques, for me, is that I want the truth.

And it’s not that the honest truth is going to hurt my feelings.

It’s that it’s going to make me feel stupid.

And I know it.

I’m going to read their critiques and feel like an uber idiot loser who can’t write for crap. I’ll want to dig a whole, crawl into it with a chocolate bar and die (after I eat the chocolate bar).

But then I’ll be okay and get uber excited over fixing my manuscript.

 

95px-Smiley_green_alien_unhappy.svg

*determined*

 

So – see? We writers are masochistic.

We rip out a piece of our soul, hand it over to strangers and ask them to rip it further to shreds. Then we take it back and agonize over it for a while. Then we get determined and want to make our story better.

It’s a never ending circle of eek!

 

But anywho of who’s, have a song. Amazing critique partner dude found this and tweeted it to me.

By the way, I love saying that. Tweet, tweeted, tweeting. lol

Okay, back on track. Love this song!

 

Are you a masochistic writer? Do you like critiques? Do you like this song? Do you have a bar of chocolate I could have?

7 Comments

Filed under Stream of Consciousness

7 responses to “Why Writers are Masochists (and “I Wanna Get Better”)

  1. Holly

    Your are awesome!! Your book is going to be a success!! ;p

  2. Yay for critiques! And yay for your book being almost done! 🙂

  3. Nan Sampson

    I hear you. My critique partners (who are every mind of awesome) manage to make me feel like an idiot all the time. But it’s important to get outside yourself. There was no way (until someone pointed it out to me) that I realized I started 30% of all sentences with And or But. Sometimes you just can’t see past your own nose. A good critique partner helps you learn. And yeah, for me anyway, sometimes learning hurts. But it’s worth it! Hang in there, believe in yourself, and you’ll get through the process!

    • Ugh, I feel like such a dork.
      I apparently re-wrote history, as you know. Good thing someone *cough* *cough* *Nan* pointed it out. 😉
      It’s as if we get so desensitized by consistently going over it, that we don’t see the obvious.
      And yes, I know how awesome and vital a good CP can be. I wouldn’t have figured out what my original issue with my story was without the one keeper I’ve had. 😉
      Thank you! (you’re a keeper now too)

What are you thinking? Speak words to me!

