Do We Listen to Ourselves?

We feel pain – because something is wrong. We start shaking – because we’re hungry. We feel out of breath – because we have asthma. We feel boxed in – because we’re claustrophobic. We feel sad – because someone we love died.

But what do we do about it?

Respectively, we; take pain pills, ignore it so we’ll lose weight, take deeper breathes and write it off as coincidence, tell ourselves we’re weak, and ignore the sadness in a myriad of ways.

If our bodies and minds could dissociate themselves from us, they’d slap us upside our head. Okay, they’d probably beat the crap out of us, bend over our bleeding, maimed mess of selves, laughing maniacally and yell, “Do you get it now?!”

I think this proves that as a species, we can be pretty self defeating. We should be called DENIALinians. We ignore what we don’t want to deal with and expect it to blow away in the wind.

Meanwhile, whatever we’re ignoring – it’s getting worse. So when we break down and have to deal with it (because both your physiology and psychological issues will eventually force you to deal with them in some proportion), we’re basically screwed. It would’ve been much simpler to deal with when it was a simple issue. But nooooooo, we have to ignore the obvious. We want the quick fix. We don’t want to have to actually deal with something. Ha! That’s what they made plastic surgery, pain pills, distractions, and self denial and justification for.

 

I try very hard to poke at my issues. I don’t just poke at them, I take a Louisville slugger to my issues and beat the hell out of them until I have some understanding. If I can’t figure out why I am doing whatever it is I’m doing, reacting whichever way I’m reacting, etc, I’m not going to let it go. Sometimes I can’t explain or understand why I react the way I react. Sometimes all I can do is accept it. I’m human. Humans are emotional. Irrational. Sometimes we don’t make sense.

But I try to figure out what is wrong. Whether its physical pain or psychological issues, take a look. Don’t ignore it. And don’t be ashamed. Everyone has issues, whether they’re denying it to you and/or themselves or acting perfect. Everyone. Has. Issues.

The truly weak ignore them out of fear.

 

stockvault-red-landscape127092

 

Shakespeare said, “Cowards die many times before their deaths; the valiant never taste of death but once.”

Even if you’re not a fighter, be strong enough, find the courage to take a look at what you’re ignoring about yourself. Don’t be afraid of your issues. Own them. You are who you are, you cannot ignore that into non existence.

 

I’m not saying to throw caution to the wind and throw all your issues down on the floor and take them apart piece by piece. Wait until you’re in a place where you’re comfortable. Don’t start asking your lawyer, coffee shop workers, or your neighbor’s busty daughter for help or unloading your issues on them. Talk to people you trust. But most importantly, ask yourself and be honest.

 

We live in a society where we ignore the bad and talk up the shiny, pretty, goodness we want to raise up and be known for.

But at the end of the day, your physical body and your psychological issues are still there. Unresolved, you won’t be as happy as you could be.

Try listening to yourself. Sometimes we’re not as dense as we tell ourselves we are. 😉 I’d much rather poke at my issues so I can figure them out so that I can then be happy with myself and my little slice of this crazy world. Happiness and health are worth the trouble.

“No man can be saved in ignorance.”

2 Comments

Filed under Stream of Consciousness

2 responses to “Do We Listen to Ourselves?

  1. Yeah, we’ve all got issues. It took me a while to come to terms with mine, but once I did, I was able to forgive and move along in a positive light. If you need to talk, you know where to find me.

What are you thinking? Speak words to me!

