You have Answers. I have Questions. Or Something Like That.

So, I’ve been bad. Again.

I was awarded the Liebster Blog award by Nikki McCormack on May 16th of last year.  Thank you Nikki!

Just in case you’re living  under a rock (which somehow receives internet connections), it is now February 19th. I think I might be a little late on this, bu-ut, better late then never. Right?

Then, Jae tagged me in a blog chain on February 4th. Thanks 😀

So I figured I should probably do something about all of these questions. *cringe*

I’m supposed to tell you 11 random things about myself as well, but that would be a post WAY too dedicated to me and I’d explode. So I’ll do that at some point in the future. Unless I forget. But don’t worry, I’ll remember a second time at some point.

ALSO – the spacing got all jacked up on this post and I don’t have the patience to fix it. So bare through it, k? Okay. *twitch*

 

PHOT0001.JPG

 

Nikki’s Questions:

What’s one odd quirk or habit you have?

I smell my food before I eat it. And if I can’t decide what to eat, I’ll start smelling food around the kitchen. But nothing unsanitary. Because sanitary is a must. Or I will very sanitarily dispose of your body. 😉

Do you have any collections and what are they?

I love quirky bags. I don’t really collect them, just harbor them. Also – I’ve always liked rocks. When I was a munchkin, I kept a plastic tub filled with rocks I’d find around the neighborhood under my bed. Now I collect gemstones (fancy term for polished rocks) and I like researching what different lore and mythology believe they symbolize.

When you get free time alone, how do you like to spend it?

This depends completely on my mood. I like to read, write, find new music, watch reruns, exercise, play with Lucky (my dog), research tons of different things, sleep, blog, etc.

What’s your favorite season and why?

When it’s Winter, I prefer Summer. When it’s Summer, I prefer Winter. I don’t really prefer one over the other. I just prefer warm weather – detest cold weather. So I suppose, 70% of the time I favor Summer.

What’s your favorite instrument?

The violin! I love listening to the violin. It can move in such sweet agony, or creep you the hell out, can be poignant or simply beautiful. Regardless, it’s always captivated me. I also like the guitar and will learn how to play it and the violin. Eventually. But when I was little, I was obsessed with the harp.

Do you prefer drama or comedy and what appeals to you about that preference?

It depends 100% on my mood. As far as appeal goes, it must be real. The emotion must touch something, story must make me feel something. I don’t like feeling like I just wasted my time.

Beer or wine (or something else entirely)?

I don’t drink. I am, however, a junkie for chocolate milk and ice cold apple juice.

What makes a party good?

The people. Secondly music and food. Oh, oh – and seclusion! Just in case bodies need burying.

What do you typically do on vacation?

Ha! Aha, ha ha ha! That’s a good one. Vacation? And when were you expecting the Easter Bunny to drop by, again?

My cat wants to know if you prefer sparkly toys or feather toys and why?

Uuuum, I’m going to be a good kid and not say what I was thinking. In the meantime, I have a peacock feather tacked to my wall. That’s the closest thing I have to a feathery or sparkly toy. If you’re wondering after my puppy, he doesn’t discriminate between things to chew on. 😉

 

stockvault-hot-chocolate141049

 

Jae’s Questions:

How old are you?

Half the time I can’t remember my name. You want me to remember how old I am? When people ask me how old I am, I have to think about it before I remember. I’m 22 years old (and I just asked my sister in case I got that wrong).

What book are you reading?

Silver Borne by Patricia Briggs. I haven’t started reading it yet. I just put the first 60 pages of a different book down because it was causing me physical pain to continue reading it. *twitch*

What are you wearing?

Skin. Don’t go anywhere without it. Also, a sweatshirt, because holy crap its freezing. And socks. And a shirt and sweatpants. Soooooo sexy, right?

OTP (One true paring – favorite couple from a book or movie)?

What? I don’t freaking know. Do you know how many variables there are to that? I’d have to scour my bookcase and remember pairs in every single book I’ve read. Okay so that’s not actually very hard, but every couple works for specific reasons. I’m not a “favorite” kind of girl. I like variety.

However, since I’m being a butt and not answering “favorite” questions that well…

I recently read “Night Shift” by Lilith Saintcrow and liked the relationship between Jill and Saul. She’s damaged and virulent and real. And he just takes all her crap, calls her on it, and believes in her, believes she’s worth the hassle. Because he loves her and he’s willing to work for a relationship with her.

I also love the relationship between Anita and Nathaniel and Anita and Jean-Claude in the Anita Blake Series by Laurell K Hamilton. They’ve got issues but they work on them. They complement each other.

Blogger or WordPress?

Obviously WordPress, as that’s what I use. 😉 I like the variety and the organizational set up of my blog page as opposed to the way blogger does it.

It drives me insane how these two butt heads though. It shouldn’t be so bleeding hard to comment on someone’s blog just because they use blogger when I use WordPress. 😦

Going outside and being active, or staying in and reading a book?

Again, depends on my mood. And the weather. I love to jog and I love just being in nature. But something I just want to hole up and read or write or fit in some downtime.

What’s the last book you read?

Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson.

What is the book you’re reading next?

Dead Man Rising by Lilith Saintcrow. Book One in this series was really good right up until the end. So if Book Two doesn’t fix it, I will breathe fire. Japh had better be alive and get with chickie.

EBooks – yes or no?

No, no, and no. If eBooks work for you, I have no problem with that. But I prefer the physical book. Nothing beats that for me. It’s plain awesome to hold a book. *hugs closest book*

Where do you prefer to read?

Planet Earth. Where do you read – Mars?

Who is your favorite booktuber?

I’m guessing this has something to do with books and youtube… But I really had no clue until I Googled it. I use YouTube for music and the occasional funny video. That’s the extent of my youtube-age.

What do you do when someone tells you reading is boring?

I just kind of wonder how they exist happily and stare at them like a perturbed owl on speed.

UKYA or USYA?

I don’t read much young adult. Even if I did, I wouldn’t care where it was published, only if the story is good or not.

What is your preferred drink while reading?

……you lead a strange life, don’t you, oh individual who wrote this?

If you hated reading, what would you being doing instead?

Probably eating or sleeping. Or something else I’ve listed as liking on here. I don’t like to sit idly by.

How many bookshelves/bookcases do you have?

One and it is awesome and I love it. I just got it back last month – words cannot express my flailing happiness at this. It’s not busting with titles though because I tend to get rid of all the books I didn’t love the freaking ink out of. If it’s not something I’d read again or care to relive, I take it to used bookstores.

Favorite author?

Would you like to die now? No favorite. It is impossible for me to pick one. What I considered “favorite” right now will be different by tomorrow.

Do you prefer books with female or male protagonists?

Gender doesn’t matter to me. Who they are and what they do is what matters to me.

Which is your favorite book-to-film adaptation?

The Count of Monte Cristo. I’ve never read the book and I never want to. The internets have spoken and they say he sleeps around with other women instead of ending up with his main woman, like in the movie. The movie makes me smile. The mere sound of the book gives me the urge to light things on fire.

Sometimes I like entertainment to produce some semblance of a happy ending, even if it isn’t realistic. 😉

What is the last song you listened to?

Disturbia by Rihanna.

 

stockvault-violin-ampamp-bow-string116251

 

 

If you would like to answer these questions – TAKE THIS AWARD! Like now. And you know, have fun. 😀

 

7 Comments

Filed under Stream of Consciousness, [Blog Awards]

7 responses to “You have Answers. I have Questions. Or Something Like That.

  1. Glad to know this stuff about YOU!
    You answered them very cleverly.
    I was smiling reading your answers!

  2. I prefer to read on planet Earth too. I guess we’re cool like that. 🙂

    Stay awesome!

  3. You had me giggling a lot through these answers, Daphne 😀

    Strangely enough I also smell food before I eat it (particularly fish and oysters) only because I hate getting sick 😉

What are you thinking? Speak words to me!

