Not Enough Crisis?

What to do about Thanksgiving…

You guys already know I’m grateful for my family, the food, clothing, and hotel room we have. So what to post about?

 

I’ve been thinking a lot lately on what we focus on and it boils down to two words.

Not.

Enough.

I feel like that’s all we focus on. We don’t have enough this, we aren’t enough that. We haven’t done enough of this, we haven’t fixed all of that, or upgraded our new this.

What’s wrong with that you may ask? Well, it’s a snowball. This way of thinking is a spider web. A crack in the glass doors, spiraling out and deeper until the entire door shatters. Leaving us with a mess and a lot to fix.

If only fixing people was as easy as fixing a glass door. But we’re not. We’re much more complicated and there are many more details and sticky strings involved in a single human being than in a million glass doors.

So we should probably try not to brake ourselves too badly if we can at all avoid it.

 

Humans are hard to fix.

Humans are hard to fix.

 

COINCIDENTALLY

Instead of complaining, being upset over what we don’t have, don’t have enough of, or haven’t accomplished, fixed, or finished, why don’t we focus on what we do have. On what we have accomplished, what we have fixed, what we have finished.

Even issues can be a blessing. Every problem can bring something positive. Every issue can stem from a blessing. Everything can be taken multiple ways. It’s all how you look at it.

I’m not saying to take a look at the corpse you left lying around in your basement and decide that because it’s given you soil workable for a high end garden, that it’s a good thing you murdered someone.

I’ve been thinking about this for the past couple of months but I haven’t written anything up on or it even talked about it with anyone. Yesterday I clicked into wordpress and (miracle of all miracles) it loaded! The first blog that popped up on my reader was one by Kristen Lamb. And guess what it was on? Being thankful instead of complaining. I think she sums up pretty well what I’m trying to say here. For example, she says:

“I am thankful for the dishes that need washing, because it means I didn’t go hungry.”

“I am thankful that I sometimes have doubts and confusion about my future and my purpose when I think of the lives cut short before they ever had a future.”

Exactly what I mean. Take your complaints and find the blessing in them.

I’m not saying there aren’t things to complain about. I am living in a hotel and wearing the same clothes over and over again, here. I’m not saying suck it up and get on with your moping self. I’m just saying that focusing on the negative, on all the failings and shortcomings will do nothing positive for us.

Focusing on the good in your life, the blessings, the small things in your life that make it better can only make you happier.

 

CRISIS = DANGER + OPPORTUNITY

I listened to a few authors talk and answer questions on writing and publishing for free a few months ago, and something the last author touched on really stuck with me. Being the avid note taker I am, I found my notes, as it was on a Chinese character. And I definitely don’t know Chinese. Hence, needed to find the notes.

The Chinese character for “crisis” is made up of two words. “Danger” and “Opportunity”.

Every crisis can be dangerous. But every crisis has the opportunity to bless you, to give you something beneficial to your specific self and circumstance. If you let it help you, if you seize that opportunity. Pretty big “IF”, don’t ya think?

 

stockvault-little-candle-with-funny-face107747

 

So there it is. That’s what  my Thanksgiving post is on. Focusing on the blessings. On the positive. On what makes you happy. Trust me, it will help you to be happier overall. I’m not saying ignore whatever is wrong in your life. No, of course you should work on it. But be happy about whatever is going right in your life. Focus on the good. It could always be worse. And once it does get worse, most of the time we’re stuck wishing we wouldn’t have taken our past circumstances for granted.

Smile for a good reason. It’s there. You just have to allow it in.

 

What little things are you thankful for? Are there things you complain about that you could probably count as a blessing?

3 Comments

Filed under Stream of Consciousness

3 responses to “Not Enough Crisis?

  1. What a wonderful post Daphne. Today is the first day in a long time that your blog has popped into my reader. You are such a positive person. I wish more people were able to look at what they have, instead of what they want.
    Thanks for being YOU!
    best Gail

    • That’s annoying – but now that I think about it… I haven’t seen yours in a long time either! When I came back from having no internet, I found that tons of blogs I’d been following weren’t on my follow list anymore, and its been insane trying to find them all again.

      Aw, thanks. You’re so sweet to me. You aren’t exactly pessimistic yourself. 😉

What are you thinking? Speak words to me!

