Hotel Hell #6 – Not a Snowball’s Chance in Hell

This Month’s Recap: we were given a week to get out of Hotel Hell, we called tons of people but were turned down even though we have no money. Down to four days to get out and a miracle struck. We secured the next two months and told everyone we were safe. People started rolling their eyes and insinuating we freaked out for attention. I got a little opposite of happy.

I made use of my flamethrower. =D

We didn’t know we’d be able to stay. We thought we’d be out on our butts and we were one dilemma away from a nervous breakdown. If you think we’re being ridiculous, answer me this question. When was the last time you thought life was leaving you without a place to live? Better yet – when was the last time it happened four times in a row and all anyone did was roll their eyes and call you drama queen? The threat of being kicked out of a bad situation and abandoned to a worse one is real for us. So pardon me for being worried.

Mini rant over.

 

On another note, I have every adult’s worst fear in a single picture. Observe:

IMG_4949

 

 

 

We were down at the dollar store, went to pay for something but our card was mysteriously denied. Hmmmm… checked the balance and almost fell over.

Our balance was NEGATIVE eighty thousand dollars?! Ha, ha. Did someone mention heart failure? It turned out there was something wrong with the fafsa’s online controls and everything was fine the next day.  But really? I think the bad luck fairy likes us. Too much. I think she gets a raise if we have a heart attack before we die.

 

Last Hotel Hell post, I told you our refrigerator door fell off. Well, this month it died. Not the door – we duct taped that – but the entire refrigerator died.  And all our food went bad. So now we have to keep everything shoved to the back of the fridge where it stays relatively cool, and move the milk back and forth between the freezer and fridge so it doesn’t go bad.

 

Oh! Oh! And, in denial to the claims that all I ever eat is chocolate (*cough *cough) I have taken a picture of my lunch! Whatcha got now?

IMG_4898

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ha ha! See, I told you I mostly, sometimes balance out my diet. Really. Sort of. When I’m not eating chocolate, I’m eating  healthy, ok? Or at least 80% healthy.

If there’s one thing that I cannot wait to have money to be able to do, it’s try different foods. I love food. 😀

 

Mum dropped her phone in her chocolate milk. And I’M the clumsy one?

 

The shop beneath us locked their wifi, so we’d need their network key to use it. Sooooo, we bought a monthly wireless internet plan and hooked it up (because we don’t have a phone jack in our room). And it didn’t work. Apparently someone hit the tower in our town and it’s going to be down for up to three days.

See? Bad luck fairy strikes again.

 

ROAD TRIP

We went on a road trip sometime in May, or June, or July… Okay, one of those but I don’t remember which. Or maybe it was the beginning of August. I don’t remember. Regardless, we took a road trip.

IMG_4571

L to R; Dylan, Holly, Tannis

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We burrowed someone’s car, since our truck eats gas like skittles, and drove four hours with Lucky in the backseat and drove each other crazy. Just kidding, we didn’t kill each other. It was a surprisingly relaxed day. Okay, so it wasn’t relaxed but we weren’t at each other’s throats with a pick axe, so it was a good day.

Whatever the case, I think the fresh air did Dylan some good.  Right up until he started glowing.

IMG_4623

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Holly and Lucky had some bonding time. A couple of adorable Do Do Birds, aren’t they?

IMG_4636 IMG_4639

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_4667IMG_4666

 

 

 

 

 

 

I met an awesome crow, who had quite a lot to say. I’ll definitely be thinking of a way to include him in a future post – I got some hilarious photos of him.

IMG_4579 IMG_4580

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_4581

 

 

 

 

 

 

On the drive home, I took more pictures than I can count, but I especially like the bells lining the road. Why? I don’t know. I just do. Deal with it. 😉

IMG_4668 IMG_4676

 

 

 

 

 

 

This one spoke words to me. No really, it’s telepathic.

I THINK the bells line the path the padres used to walk from mission to mission. But I could be wrong about that, as I don’t have Google to Google anything right now, I could be 100% wrong.

IMG_4671

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Oh, and I put my hand in a bag full of maggots. Just had to share that. Yuck (!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!).

 

Be not afraid, blog-o-spherians. No bad luck fairy is going to keep me from you. Not a snowball’s chance in Hell.

 

Do you like crows? Are you clumsy? Do you know what those bells are? Is the Bad Luck Fairy infatuated with you?

6 Comments

Filed under Stream of Consciousness

6 responses to “Hotel Hell #6 – Not a Snowball’s Chance in Hell

  1. Jae

    Seems like the Bad Luck Fairy is bothering me a little these days. But I guess that’s life. If there’s one constant in life it’s change, right? I’m sorry people were being doofuses about your situation. That stinks. It’s hard to be a tough situation, harder when people you think are your allies act like enemies.

    As for crows, well, I don’t hate them per se, but I don’t like them either. It’s Japan’s fault really. The crows there are as big as dogs and much more sinister. Apparently crows can remember face shapes, so they know who you are, and if you cross them, they’ll get you. I heard more than a few crow revenge stories from the Japanese. Plus they give you this creepy look, with their beak partly open—almost like vultures. Maybe crows crossbred with vultures in Japan? I don’t know. Creepy though. They really are.

    Glad to hear from you. I’m not getting any notifications of new posts from anyone, so I’m sorry if it ever takes me awhile to find them. Don’t know what’s up with WP these days.

    • Oh no! I’m sorry, the Bad Luck Fairy sucks. Epically. I hope it leaves you alone.

      That is so neat – the Japanese stories I mean. I totally have to look into this. As soon as I have internet access that works. Arg. I love crows, but I didn’t know they can remember faces.

      Don’t even worry. Most of the time I can’t even get on the internet any more. So by the time you reply, it’ll look to me like you got to it right after I posted it. ;D

  2. Anonymous

    My question is…wait for it..Why did you not go own and explain to the wifi person your situation, they might have been understanding. Even if it did not work it might have a least showed some need for help.

  3. Leila

    Sending bad-luck fairy repellent your way.

What are you thinking? Speak words to me!

