Next Big Thing: Cannibals and Chains and Amnesia, Oh My!

First off, I want to thank Gail for nominating me for Blog of the Year! Apparently my blog doesn’t make people want to run for the hills. 😉

Second – this post is really overdue, as Nicky Peacock tagged me on November 30th. Thank you Nicky! Please don’t shoot me for taking so long.

For those of you who read my guest post on Brian’s blog, Descent into Slushland, two of the questions in this post are the same but my answers have changed as my novel has developed. So you won’t be bored out of your mind. Hopefully. If you are, well, then next time I’ll consider bringing in some real cannibals. Promise you wouldn’t be bored then. 😉

Here goes…

 

stockvault-alone100138

 

What is the working title of your next book?

HUMAN OR HIDDEN.

 

Where did the idea for the book come from?

It spawned from a dream. From there, two things combined with the lingering desire to bring my dream to life (on paper; I assure you it’s impossible to bring that dream to life in reality).

ONE – I wanted a wicked female protagonist with amnesia and anger issues to find out she’s a soul eater by accident. And TWO – Blair’s entire backstory hit me from there, all at once. Her backstory, coincidentally tied in with a subject I’ve been interested in for quite some time now.

From there, my love of Blair’s character and the world and characters that popped up around her had me hooked, enthralled, and excited.

 

What genre does your book fall under?

Fiction (duh). More specifically: Fantasy and Horror.

I’m not going to go into subgenres because I’m currently in the middle of doing a blog series on fiction genres and their subgenres and have yet to tackle either fantasy or horror. Go figure.

 

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

You’re not going to like my answer to this one. Ironically, I like reading other writers’ answers to this question and to see how they imagine their characters. But, I don’t want to put actual faces to my characters. When people read my novels, I want them to be able to imagine my characters however they want, with what little description I will provide for them. Everyone has a different preference towards how people look and I don’t want to ruin a character for anyone.

I know, you wanted to see actors put to names. If you really want to see who I would have play my characters, then have lots of people read my books when I get published and then you, my fan base, can make it popular enough to have them made into a movie. 😉

 

What is the 1 sentence pitch of your novel?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“Blair is a soul eater with amnesia, anger issues, bloody clothing, and chains; or at least that’s how she wakes up in the forest, just outside the Cursed town she’ll now call home. Upon arrival, Blair is forced to kill an ancient evil which frees the townspeople but simultaneously releases a savage cannibalistic disease for which there is no cure. Not the best way to make allies, especially when they’re not all human, but of the Hidden.”

 

Will your book be self published or represented by an agency?

Agency. I like having what the correct literary agent for me will provide me with.

 

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your masterpiece?

Fourteen (14) weeks.

And trust me; the rough draft was no masterpiece. I scrapped 80% of the plot without hesitation.

Draft #3 will be, however, a masterpiece.

 

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Yeah, I’m going to suck on this answer too.

I really have no clue right now. I normally don’t worry about this until I have decided which literary agents to send queries to. Then I look into all the books they’ve represented and decide which of those my novel is most like or would fit in with on the bookshelves.

Besides, Draft #2 is going to be very different from Draft #1, so I don’t have a solid premise to work off of here.

 

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

I’m not sure what really inspired HUMAN OR HIDDEN. I’m horrible at articulating what inspires me to write what I write. I get an idea and it branches from there. What inspired me? The same thing that always inspires me – emotion.

I really wanted a character involved with a lot of angst. I wanted to give a wounded animal with some major issues, a strange and inhuman ability and see what she would do with all her anger, strength, and vulnerabilities from there. Blair fit the bill and I ran with it. Plus, the world Blair lives in is pretty intriguing and I wanted to continue being a part of it.

Real world things that inspire me are too complex to articulate. Why? Because they’re tied in with emotion. And everyone knows the heart doesn’t speak in any one language. Sometimes it doesn’t even make sense to itself.

 

What else about your book might pique the readers’ interest?

Blair makes some unusual allies after getting stuck in the cursed town, Zerzura. Two of these allies don’t hold a humanoid form. As far as anyone knows.

One is a red fox, who you’ll find towards the end of HUMAN OR HIDDEN, isn’t what he appears. And the other is a djieien, a large mythological spider who hides her heart under the earth in the basement and decides for Blair where she’s going to live.

Both play a large part in Blair’s story but neither are very good with communication. Let’s just put it this way; Blair has some strange relationships.

 

stockvault-dark-forest136003

Blair’s story begins here.

16 Comments

Filed under Stream of Consciousness

16 responses to “Next Big Thing: Cannibals and Chains and Amnesia, Oh My!

  1. Pingback: AFB: Daphne Shadows | Lit and Scribbles with Jae

  2. I totally agree with you on the actor question. I’ve never seen one that would remotely fit my main character. And 3rd draft is the charm! I’m up for beta reading if you want.

    • Oh thank you very much for that offer… you may see me redeeming it down the road. 😉

      I want everyone to be able to imagine my characters in their own way. I don’t like making people’s minds up for them.

  3. Nice to see you back to writing again, is the blue funk over?

  4. Jae

    I like that you used pictures of creepy forests, it really did help set the mood. Thanks for sharing a little more on what your story is about. 🙂

  5. Sounds fascinating Daphne, can’t wait.

  6. This sounds great – I love Blair’s character already 😉

  7. You completely dodged the actor question. It seems like you have a solid foundation. Good luck bringing your world to life. The spider sounds cool. Reading it should be fun.

    • Ha, ha, yes. But its just because I don’t want to make anyone’s mind up for them.

      Thank you. It’s a lot of fun… it will be even more fun when I am done with all the character building and actually get to write!!! lol 😉

What are you thinking? Speak words to me!

