Monster Mash

This is October. That equals Halloween (Samhain). Which, if you happen to me be me, is pure awesome.

So all bets are off and I’m going with something goofy.

Monster Mash by Bobby ‘Boris’ Pickett & the Crypt-Kickers…

 

 

 

 

Ever since I can remember, we always played this song at Halloween. It’s now become a sort of Halloween tradition, or rather October tradition.

We have this CD full of goofy fun Halloween themed songs that we listen to all month. Then on Halloween night, as people come to our door, we have it playing. It pretty much plays over and over all night long while we’re home.

Unless we’re watching horror movies. 😀

 

SPORADIC STUFFS

The title had quite the morphing process. It went like this…

The Monster Twist > The Monster Mashed Potato > The Mean Monster Mashed Potato > The Monster Mash

The producer of Monster Mash was Gary Paxton. Every recording label Gary Paxton went to turned him down, saying the song was stupid and it would never make it to the radio. Gary Paxton then proceeded to make 1,000 copies on his own label and drive up and down California and drop records off at radio stations. Monster Mash quickly hit #1 on the Billboard Hot 100.

Elvis Presley reportedly thought this song was the stupidest thing he’d ever heard. (Ouch.)

Boris Karloff (the man who played Frankenstein in the 1930’s) and tons of horror movies were the combining inspiration for Bobby Pickett’s Monster Mash.

(For more random info and the lyrics, look here.)

What do you think? Do you like Monster Mash? Are there specific songs you like to listen to as Halloween rolls around?

(Let me know if the song gets taken off of YouTube so I can link a new one, please.)

18 Comments

Filed under Music

18 responses to “Monster Mash

  1. I like Michael Jackson’s “Thriller” ’round Halloween. Makes me want to dress up monster-like and boogie. 😉

  2. You threw me a curve with this one. I certainly wasn’t expecting Monster Mash for your first music post. I think everyone likes this song! Can’t wait to see what’s next.

  3. Great October choice – love it! I didn’t know the background to this song – nice to hear about someone who believed in his work enough to keep going in the face of so much rejection, and then ended up being so successful.

  4. I love the Monster Mash – great start for the music posts! 😉

  5. Hollin Scott

    If you haven’t seen the Mannheim Steamroller music video for Monster Mash, check it out. It’s pretty funny! I love October. Best month of the year, in my opinion.

  6. Flying Purple People Eater would also be a good one.

  7. Jae

    I love the Monster Mash. It’s almost not Halloween unless you’ve heard it a dozen times or so! Great song choice!

    I’ve got a different sort of Halloween song for you. Enjoy! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fMQ4phPPLHA

What are you thinking? Speak words to me!

