Be Like Nike and Just Do It

Goals, plans, ideas, creativity, persistence, motivation, determination, ingenuity, resources, dreams, and intent are all useless if you don’t actually start doing what you want to be doing.

If you don’t do anything…. you’re going nowhere.

 

Don’t let anything hold you back. Not doubt (self or otherwise), procrastination, negative comments, fear of failure, fear of making mistakes, actually making mistakes, etc.

Unless aliens are invading, do it – whatever your ‘it’ happens to be (as long as you’re not involving clowns, I’m good). Even then you could be keeping video documentary and exposing the nefarious plans of the talking squirrels that let the aliens in on how to take us down.

 

Talking squirrels are going to sell us out. It’s true.

 

ACTIVE VS. PASSIVE

When writing a novel, we’re told that our main characters need to be active and not passive. True?

active: someone who takes charge, does something towards their goal or need

passive: someone who sits around and waits for life to run them over full force and then reacts

 

We can take a lesson from writers in this instance. A lesson applied to real life.

If you want to get something done, you need to be active. You need to do something about your ‘it’ and actually work towards it.

 

Fire does not wait for the sun to be hot, nor the wind for the moon, to be cool.

-Zenrin Kushu

Dylan, my brother, as Rambo *epitome of active*

 

FOCUS + THICK SKIN

focus: close attention, concentration

Put blinders on. Focus! If you digress even a little when you don’t have your main purpose solidified (or even when you do), you’ll end up all over the place and frustrated, ready to give up.

No thrown in towels, people!

It’s like Shifu said in “Kung Fu Panda”:

Focus… Panda… Focus!”

 

thick skin: the ability to not let criticism get to you and not to let it show if it does

You’re going to need it.

People are going to put you and what you’re doing down. You can’t let it get to you. What they have to say doesn’t change who you are.

 

Holly, my sister, scaring away criticism.

 

JUST DO IT, STAY FOCUSED, AND GROW THICK SKIN

In one of those rare moments of clarity afforded to me, I realized this was my problem.

Notice I said ‘was’.

 

Just Do It – Easier said than done, I know.

But nothing worth it is ever easy, spelled out for you, or complete with a how-to guide (or an old wise person who knows everything about it and has the insatiable urge to turn you into an expert on it).

Challenges are good for us. They help us figure out who we are, just how much we can handle, and how badly we want/need what we’re working towards.

 

The brick walls are there to stop people who don’t want it badly enough.
– Randy Pausch

17 Comments

Filed under The Odd Bit

17 responses to “Be Like Nike and Just Do It

  1. So true, Daphne! I have been plagued by a lot of the ailments you mentioned in your post: procrastination, fear of failure, etc. I was also plagued by the naive thought of “Oh…I’m still young…I still have time to achieve my goals.” Then, before I could blink, I entered my thirties!! Time really goes by so fast, so your post is invaluable for your followers to read!

  2. Speaking of Area 51, I discovered that Area 50 is right here in San Diego. Now I have to find Area 52………..lol

  3. nice post Daphne…your siblings are so cute 🙂

  4. I’m a terrible procrastinator and ‘Just do it’ has become my mantra!

  5. This is a keeper, Daphne. My skin is getting thicker by the day.

  6. Excellent post, Daphne! I need to save this in my inspiration file. 🙂
    I will add a quote to your Kung Fu Panda one. From Finding Nemo – Just keep swimming, swimming, swimming.
    I really needed this one this month! Thank you.

  7. Hey, Daphne – I’ll have what you’re having. I feel so inspired now!!!

    Oh, I love the photo of Dylan 😀 (and Holly looks to be right in there as well!)

  8. Hey, Daphne, I hope you’re feeling better after the attack of the Zombie Flu. You’re right. Just do it, for whatever reason. I’ve taken a couple of hits recently and I realised I had let my skin get thin. Sure it’s nice when someone else says they like what you’ve created, but there’s others who don’t. In the end I’VE got to be satisfied that it’s the best I can do at the moment. Then keep trying to improve. 🙂

    • Exactly right, it took me a while to grow that thick skin too. I’m glad you’re satisfied, that’s the most important part. And I’m feeling much better, thank you. All the zombie flu has been annihilated… now I’m just a regular old zombie. 😉

What are you thinking? Speak words to me!

