the Urge to Zombie

Have you ever had one of those weeks? No – months, yeah.

You ever had one of those months?

You know – where you’re scattered. All over the place. Here, there, a bit behind that tree over there too, down the street?

Up, down, sideways, crooked, this way, that way, upside down and oh – inside out maybe.

Your mind’s on this and your mind’s on that and you’re being pulled into eighty thousand pieces all at once. And you haven’t the foggiest clue as to which way is correct.

 

 

 

 

 

It’s not that you’re distracted. No one has a gun to your head.

In fact, you can’t really put your finger on what the actual problem is. You feel psychotic to put it plainly. Because something is wrong, something is pulling you every which way internally, but you have no clue as to what is actually upsetting you.

 

I’m having one of those months.

There is definitely something wrong. I just don’t know what it is.

Maybe it’s a mental breakdown. Or lack of sleep. Maybe it’s just as random as a leaf falling in front of me as I walk on down the sidewalk.

I dunno.

I could be turning into a zombie, but I think I’d be turning green if that was the case. So I’m ruling that out.

 

As if mental and emotional issues weren’t enough, now I’m sick. Feels like the bloody flu combined with a sinus infection. Normally, I can ignore being sick, take my antibiotics, and be getting on with myself.

But if I’m complaining, you know I feel like C.R.A.P.

I’m not out for sympathy. I don’t like that, I like to keep my yick to myself and let you all see the good, bubbly, happy, positive, somewhat disturbed crazy person that I am.

But this just plain sucks.

This does alleviate one issue though. I was wondering why I felt so exhausted that I couldn’t turn my brain on enough to work on my writing. Now I know it’s because I was getting sick.

 

But anyway, I’m telling you awesome crazies this for one purpose: don’t ditch me! (Okay, so that’s a somewhat selfish reason – don’t leave me! lol) If I happen not to post anything for the rest of this week or next week, know I’m coming back.

This is how I feel right now.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Subtracting the fact that I’m sick and all effects it would NOW have on me mentally and emotionally…

While I’m away for a possible week (I really hope not!!! I like you guys and doing this blogging stuff! Plus I’ve kept on schedule thus far…) let me know what you guys do when you have a scattered, mental ‘I dunno what’s wrong but something’s got me irked, scattered, unsettled’ feeling, like I explained above…

Do you have scattered, strange blocks of time where you feel upset but you don’t know what over? Do you feel unproductive and ‘iffy’ even though the facts are telling you that you’re doing everything that you should be to meet your goals?

Do you ever just feel ‘ugh’?

We’re going to call this having the Urge to Zombie. Cuz when I feel mentally ugh and scattered I just want to sit around and do nothing but eat, watch tv shows,  movies, read, and hang out.

 

 

If you have had the Urge to Zombie, what do you do about it?

Let me know …. I’m curious how other peoples’ minds work.

 


Also, Just FYI: I FINALLY finished messing around with my three pages up on the top. Hallelujah. I now have a blog bouncer. And he’s fuzzy.

32 Comments

Filed under Stream of Consciousness

32 responses to “the Urge to Zombie

  1. With every statement/question in your post, I seemed to answer “Yep” or “Me, too!” or “Totally!”. I’ve actually been zombie-ing for a few days now. For me, if I have these feelings and I’m not sick, it’s usually due to feelings of being overwhelmed. Work+school+bills+rent+dog+family+blog=a cluster F of priorities. These past few days, however, it has been due to my unorganized environment. For example, my office looks AWFUL! I finally got off my butt and started to declutter my environment, which will hopefully result in a clear head!

  2. Eurgh. I’m experiencing it right now – a cold or allergies on top of work I don’t want to do. Usually I try to read a good book or daydream, but sometimes you have stuff that needs doing and must push on!

  3. Miss Rosen

    oO lovely ~

    i feel you on the rough spot. i love that you can turn a phrase ‘urge to zombie” in the middle of alla this. sounds like you are burned out and need to give yourself a break.

    this is a very hard thing to do. from the little i know of you based on your posts, it sounds like there is way too much on your shoulders and you are carrying other people’s responsibilities as your own. not only does that suck, but it’s also a set up. dont condition yourself to be a machine. machines break. trust me on this one.

    or do it. and break, and i mean this in the most loving way. i would never have gotten to this place in my life if i didnt go hard and fall on my face. i guess in the end my best advice is this: know that you are allowed to relax and enjoy simply being at peace in whatever way makes you feel most beautiful ~*~

  4. Oh, yes. I think that zombie urge sounds a tad familiar. 🙂

    Get better!

  5. Hi, Daphne,

    Wow, looking at the poll it looks like quite a few of us have the urge to zombie sometimes. Sometimes my chi gets all out of whack with the Universe and getting it all back together again usually involves just letting it all go. Let the tide sweep you away while you regroup. It’s OK not to be running on all 12 cylinders, though I admit it’s darn frustrating.
    Hope you feel better soon. 🙂

  6. If I’m heading for a zombie time I take a walk or a power nap and think of something positive – like winning the lotto or something 🙂

    If I’m getting sick zombie I make chicken soup (I make the best goddamn chicken soup in the world) and that usually snaps me out of it.

    I wonder if chicken soup could be a zombie killer? Hmmm – that would make an interesting story…

    • You know, its the strangest thing…. when I’m sick the thought of soup of any kind makes me want to vomit. *no sense*

      Me too – exercise and sleep.

      That would be hilarious! You should run with that idea! 😉

  7. I have zombie moments quite often. If it’s a regular zombie moment, I just try to get up and start moving – change my perspective. If it’s a ‘sick’ zombie moment, I take a nap. If you’re sick, rest is the best thing for you. I read somewhere that you should always do your best – but realize that your ‘best’ is not the same every day, especially on days when you are ill.

    • That’s one I have to remind myself of often. I don’t like letting myself off the hook just because I’m sick. I often tell myself to suck it up and ignore it until I end up dead on my feet. Stupid I know, but I’m stubborn.
      But I did – I crashed. Got sleep though – thank heaven!
      Feeling better. Thank you. 🙂

      Yeah – when its normal zombie I exercise. That usually helps me.

  8. Anonymous

    Chuck
    Listen to Mariah sing this song 😉

    Music Box ——Mariah Carey

    When I am lost
    You shine a light for me
    And set me free
    When I am low
    You wash away my tears
    And take me through

    The loneliness
    And emptiness
    Through the darkest night
    Somehow I survive
    Through it all

    [Chorus:]
    When you tell me I’m the only one you need
    Sweet and tenderly
    And your love
    Breaks away the clouds surrounding me
    All I have I want to give to thee

    If I should fall
    Your love is strong enough to lift me up
    If I’m afraid
    You chase away my fears
    And take me to

    A brighter place
    Beyond the rain
    And I feel alright
    ‘Cause your by my side
    Through it all

    [Chorus]

    You take me through
    The loneliness and emptiness
    And I feel alright
    ‘Cause your by my side
    Through it all

    You tell me I’m the only one you need
    Sweet and tenderly
    And your love
    Just breaks away the clouds surround me
    And baby all I have I want to give to thee

    Want to give you all of my love
    Now and forever my love
    All I have I want to give to thee

  9. It’ll take a lot more than some snot to get rid of me! I’m here for the long haul. If you’re going to be a zombie I guess you should watch Shaun of the Dead. Simon Pegg and Nick Frost will make you feel better. After that, a nice hot shower should soothe away some sinus pressure. Then you can find something to read and wonder how your writing compares, because that’s what I envision you doing. And don’t forget to take a nap with the doggies. Other than that, make sure you have plenty of tissues and relax.

    • If it were only snot, I’d be thanking my sinuses!
      In the horrific fear of sounding like a wimp, let me explain. I have Chronic Fatigue Syndrome and insomnia and haven’t been sleeping for months prior. So when I got sick, I went down hard. Besides, my grandmother was treated for everything but childbirth while pregnant with my mum (cuz she wasn’t supposed to be able to have children) and my mum has NO immune system. So, I have half a one. I get to the point where I just start puking up gobs of phlegm for days straight – from a sinus infection. I normally only get this crappy when I haven’t been sleeping. But my body requires the sleep its denying itself more so than normal because of the CFS.
      Okay, now I hope you don’t think I’m a wimp. Really – I’m not!

      I finally watched Shaun of the Dead a few months ago. I have to say that I love that movie!

      Me – relax? Ha! I’m just going over the thoughts of everything piling up in my absence. *glares at dishes*
      I did sleep though. Got some sleeping pills from the doc (after arguments of me not needing them and “surely” not needing that high of a dose) and finally insured I wouldn’t end up going off the deep end. My puppy kicked it in the recliner next to me (I had to sleep sitting up).

      Great. Now what are you, telepathic too? I so do that! …… (compare my writing)

      • I never thought you were a wimp. I was saying you leaking gobs of snot wouldn’t get rid of me, you know, from sticking by you and your blog…
        Is this thing on? 🙂

        No, I’m not telepathic. I simply pay attention, especially to my peeps. And I do consider you my peep. So get some sleep, wash a few dishes, and think about how you can make the opening scene of your WIP better. My psychic powers tell me it’s really been bothering you. 😉

      • If you’re referring to my brain, no its not on – lol. I totally misread that, sorry!

        Your psychic powers are telling you the truth…… you hit that right on the head!

  10. Jae

    Sorry you’re in zombie mode. Take a break, watch some awesome movies, maybe let the holiday weekend rejuvenate you. You’ll come back. Read some good books, listen to some good music, fill your head up with your favorite things and you’ll return ready to rumble.

    • You know, if I was ONLY in zombie mode, I would have done that. But instead I got sick and didn’t sleep for months prior so I’m all jacked up and instead died for five days straight. I think my family poked me with a stick a few times to check for a pulse. Cuz if they’d woken me up and were close enough, they’d have been dead. 😉

      Really good idea. Maybe I’ll do that for the next two days anyway. Rejuvenation isn’t exactly a bad thing. Thanks!!! Hope you’re feeling better as well. 😀

  11. I’ve never had the zombie problem, but I’ve seen plenty of them around– Why, just the other day I was in a big box store [Something I try to avoid] and there were hundreds of the undead in there, just roaming around, moaning groaning and grunting while they filled carts with plastic crap from China and mindlessly consumed everything within sight! It was pretty freaky!
    Joking, of course… Have a good one! 🙂

  12. Eugh, I feel for you. I have been having one of those years. Not fun.

  13. I had a decade. My uggh moments are less and less now, but still, when I get them, ugggghhhh.
    I am sorry about your zombie month. If it’s any consolation at all, you have looked like you have it all together.

    • Thank you! You have no clue how amazingly awesome it is to hear that. I feel like I’m all over the place. Glad to know I don’t look as dumb as I feel.

      Once you get out of the ugghhhness you have a clearer perspective but when you’re still there, it doesn’t matter even if you KNOW you’re there. Its ugggghhhh.
      Maybe now you’ll have a decade of anti-uuuuuggggggghhhhh. 😉

  14. For me I usually veg on the sofa and watch movies or get outside a find a trail to walk.

What are you thinking? Speak words to me!

