Suffer Well

Lovely, isn’t it?

Suffer well. Who wants to suffer? No one does.

But what does that mean, really?

Never despair; but if you do, work on in despair.

-Edmund Burke

That’s what it means to me.

The opposite of suffering is thriving. Is happiness. Something so elusive yet so convoluted, misused, and hated via jealousy.

Happiness is something harder to describe than “suffer well”, I’m afraid.  Again – to me.

No one will always be happy. Times will never be perfect. Things in your life will happen that make you hate, cry, fear, loathe, cry out, miss times passed, wish for something more – something better, something happy.

But we cannot all have it go our way all the time. And life is a messy mash-up of, simply put, everything.

Give it your all.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Murphy’s Law: anything that can go wrong, will.

How many of you know this one?

I can feel you cringing and half smirking. 😉

Facing it, always facing it, that’s the way to get through it.  Face it.

-Joseph Conrad

 

Don’t hide. Suffer well. Do what you can.

Make peace with it. I’m not saying to be a victim, I’m saying take the pain you’ll be bestowed when you don’t let yourself be victimized. And there’s so much to that word, that implication; “victim”. Take is as you will and never let it happen of your own free will.

Life is something strange. Something diluted and translucent all at once. Appreciate it. Love it. Strive to live your life for you but don’t forget those around you who you love, you respect, admire, hope the best for. If they factor into your happiness, factor them in. If they only want to ride your high of “happy”, let them go.

Life is something strange.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Never memorize something that you can look up. 

– Albert Einstein

Spend your time on what you enjoy, when you can.

Love when you want to. Ask yourself why you love when you don’t want to.

Feel what you must. Know yourself well enough to know when what you feel and what is true is not the same thing.

But while you suffer, do it well.

Figure out who you are. Do not be a collective of all those around you. Be you. And then make peace with who you are.

Find out what you want. What you need. Find out why. Find out how. Decide you neither want it nor need it if it is evil.

Perception is everything and you’d be astounded by the amount of control we have over ourselves by what we perceive. Be sincere. Be truthful with yourself. There’s nothing more painful at times. But it’s well worth it.

Be sincere.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In 3 words I can sum up everything I know about life: it goes on.

– Robert Frost

Suffer well. Do not let life’s pains and setbacks put you through enough pain to the point you want to quit.

Enough is enough. Know when that is for you. And if someone puts you down for having your own definition of this, set them lose. Let them go.

 

Never be ashamed of what or how you feel….just be honest.

– Jaimie Alexander

I guess this post came at this time because I’ve finally made peace with me. With my life, where I’m at. What I’m doing, what I’m lacking, what I want, what I desire. What I know. And I’m not strictly talking knowledge here.

I’ve been thinking a lot about a poem I wrote some time ago. I think I’ll read through it now – it’s had over a year to sit …. I think that’s enough time for me to wait. (Just image, if as writers we left that rough draft for one year – I’d end up in a straight jacket!)  Maybe I’ll mend it, take it to where I want it and post it here. It’s where I got “Welcome to My Shaded World of the Strange”. Seems to be a theme in my brain, so why not run with it? It won’t leave me alone, I might as well.

 

We think too much and feel too little.”

– Charlie Chaplin

I don’t mean to go all preachy on you, but I just had to spew that out for you. Or maybe I just had to spew it out period and I like all of you and thought you ought to know.

I was reminded by someone I consider a friend that I really need to not be afraid to do things my way. He reminded me not to be afraid to make mistakes. Jeeze – I definitely forgot that one for a while.

I’ll leave you with the promise to post something coherent next time around – and with my favorite quote.

Happiness is in the heart of the beholder.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Follow your heart but take your brain with you.

– Unknown


Guess staring: Lucky, Flame, and MoJo.


13 Comments

Filed under Stream of Consciousness

13 responses to “Suffer Well

  1. It was great to finally see pics of your little boys! All so sweet! And it’s interesting that you included quotes from famous authors in your post, because I feel that you wrote very important life lessons that can be isolated into quotes as well. My favorite: “Do not be a collective of all those around you.” 🙂

  2. What a fantastic post. I love the sayings – very clever 🙂
    My god – what beautiful dogs !!!!

  3. love this post..and your DOGGGIES!

  4. Great post! 🙂 I especially liked the pics of the pups.

  5. Commander

    If one would have to suffer, I would rather suffer well, than horribly. 🙂

What are you thinking? Speak words to me!

