Mi Amor / My Passion

I was going to write about genre today. Then I got to thinking about all the specifics and generalities, all the ‘rules’ of writing, and about the craft and how you’ll always be perfecting it, never fully perfect.

Then I generally felt kind of dumb.

Here I am thinking about all these rules, rigid and cold.

Where’s the emotion?

Why did I start writing?

Oh, I don’t know. Maybe because I enjoy it.

I read a blog post yesterday about caring less. I think that’s a really good idea – to care less. About your rough draft writing, that is. I’m sticking to rough drafts here – no pinning me as responsible for blown kitchens. I say you should care about most things. Like hygiene, sleep, and how long ago you turned the oven on.

I love how Cheryl said it. You can find her post here – if you’re a writer, or anyone who isn’t enjoying doing what they once did, I suggest you read it. She talks about how we should stop caring about how this sentence looks, perfecting this chapter, stop caring that this isn’t the perfect word, while we’re sitting down to simply write the rough draft. If you do, you’ll never get anywhere and the enjoyment you could have gotten from writing will be sucked away into a dismal abyss of nothingness.

 

 

 

 

 

 

You can have all the rules down pat, all the structural advice, all the professional know how, all the best of goals planned out. But nothing writing related matters at all if you don’t have one key ingredient where writing is concerned.

Passion.

When someone asks you why you write, what’s your answer? Mine – because I love it. Because my brain is constantly in some alternate world brimming with craziness and thrill. Because before I go to sleep, when I wake up, and all throughout the day – I have these people in my head that I wish were real and I want to know what goes on with them, more and more. Because I have something to say and I can say it through them.

(I think writing is the only career you can have where you WON’T get thrown into a mental institution for talking to people in your head.)

My passion is most certainly writing. It’s a part of me and I wouldn’t have it any other way. Writing has always made the unbearable just a little more bearable for me. It is my therapy I suppose.

Everyone says if you’ve decided to become an author – try and do something  else. When I don’t write, I go through these strange depressed periods (kind of like when I don’t exercise). When I start up again, I feel better instantly. Writing is my release. It’s my passion.

When you write, your passion translates through to the reader. If you care, they’re more likely to care. It doesn’t matter if your purpose for writing is to inform others or to learn about yourself, to make a point, or to write on something that takes up your thoughts and importance. If you’re passionate about it, you enjoy it.

The title of this post is: my love, my passion. Don’t you think we should be able to title everything important in our lives with that? If you’re doing something, it better be either out of necessity or passion. If not, you’re not going to be happy.

We all have to do things we don’t want to. That’s just called life. But those things we can control, those things we have a choice in, we shouldn’t waste that choice, that chance.

Your passions are what make you – you – and gives you the potential to grow and to feel fulfilled.

Don’t ignore what burns within you.

What are you passionate about?

22 Comments

Filed under Stream of Consciousness

22 responses to “Mi Amor / My Passion

  1. Pingback: Things you can’t ignore and a little tough love « Bookish

  2. Great question! I would have to say that writing is my passion as well…but can you have more than one? Or, would having more than one make the initial passion lose some of it’s significance?

    • Oh most definitely you can have more than one passion! If you feel passionate about it, you can’t help that. And your passions can always change. 😀
      In my opinion, each thing you’re passionate about has its own place in your heart, so to say. It is unique in how it makes you feel, what it does for you, how it draws you in. And in that way each passion will draw on something different but never on another passion.

  3. Sarah Hawkins

    I write because I love to write…I’ve always been geared towards the creative. Before I was twelve (when I decided I wanted to be an author), I wanted to be an artist. I still paint. My paintings don’t have the technical skill, though, and that can make a big difference to a trained eye. I went to school to learn the technical stuff about writing, and I have to say, knowing it has made me a better writer. It is really complicated, especially genre theory (especially now that young adult is around.) I practiced my grammar and syntax until great sentences would flow naturally. I still had grammatical mistakes in my first draft, and I still wrote my first draft without lingering over the little stuff, but that’s because I have a technical background and I don’t have to worry about it as much.

  4. Strange you wrote this because I started writing a post yesterday about ‘point of view’. When I got half way through it, I thought “I really don’t know enough about this – I’m not a technical writer”, so I scrapped it and started writing about things that annoy me instead!

    I’m going to read Cheryl’s post.

    Thanks for sharing – you made me feel ‘human’ again:)

  5. Jae

    “While one person hesitates because he feels inferior, the other is busy making mistakes and becoming superior.” – Henry C. Link

    Rough drafts are a part of the journey to better writing. Mistakes serve to make us better writers if we let them.

  6. Hi Daphne! Thanks for the shout out! You make a great plea to follow our passions!

  7. Whether perfect or not, I believe that, if a person is enjoying what they are doing, it shines through.

  8. I think one of the reasons — perhaps the main reason — why so many people fail at their jobs is because they don’t have a passion for it. I can remember those first few days at each new job, and the passion I had for them. When that passion eventually disappeared, and I was just showing up to earn a paycheck, I knew it was time to move on, to find a different passion.

  9. I know exactly what you mean about not writing! I feel cagey and frustrated and just not myself when I haven’t written. Great post.

  10. christinakrieger

    I totally agree, writing is my passion too! And I talk to my characters on a regular basis 🙂 Thanks for sharing this post. Loved it!

  11. Yes, the time to think about the rules may not be as you write your first draft. Each writer is different. Once I’ve learned something, it’s there, and I can’t go back. After I learned the rules, they became part of the process. Not to mention writing a first draft became so much easier. But that’s what worked for me.

    If you find yourself frustrated by rules and grammar and punctuation and tense and so on…take a step back. Collect yourself. There is no right or wrong way to write. There is only the way that works for you. All you have to do is find what works, and once you do a light will go on.

    Just don’t give up, or know when to ask someone else for advice or help, if or when you stumble. The rules are always going to be there and are mandatory for a polished manuscript, how you get to that polished point is up to you. Many successful authors suggest you simply finish your first draft and not worry about quality. Just finish. You can always worry about POV and grammar later. Just between you and me, passion is just as important as grammar. So write what you love and love what you write, and everything will work itself out. Have faith. 😉

    • Grammar and the like doesn’t bother me in the least. It’s the thinking of, “Is this perfect? Am I going to keep this for the final draft? Should I bother to write this, does it sound eloquent, etc.”
      For me, its worrying that I’m going in the wrong direction, that the plot is going to be changed anyway when I finish, and thus, writing this first draft is pointless because its’ plot sucks.
      Thinking like that. Instead of simply enjoying the writing of the story in my mind’s eye.

      Don’t worry. I won’t give up. “Stubborn” runs in my blood. Thank you! 😀

What are you thinking? Speak words to me!

